~ My new home www.sillyreflections.com! See you there
Life, Photography, Street Photography

Emotions on Indian Streets


I have moved to a new home http://sillyreflections.com See you there! You can read this article directly here: Emotions on Indian Streets

For many days, I have been waiting for a chance to try my hand at street photography, but was always stepping back.. fearful of what the people’s reactions would be. So, I shelved my idea deep inside a cupboard in my mind. But, all of a sudden.. Google Photography Prize Contest was announced! I contemplated hard on what theme to decide on, and finally figured this is the right moment to bring out my idea of capturing the Indian Streets and all the emotions they convey to me everyday!!

So, here is my series on Emotions in Street Photography which was my entry into the competition. Each photo is accompanied by a short story on what I felt when I was clicking that photo. Click on them to read that story and like it if you like it!!

1. Dreams

Dream- To buy such a car some day

Dream- To buy such a car some day

.

2. Reality

Reality - The image that changed Buddha

Reality - The image that changed Siddharth into Buddha

.

3. Lonely

Lonely - Feeling alone amongst a billion people

Lonely - Feeling alone amongst a billion people

.

4. Determination

Determination - Wading Through Tough Waters

Determination - Wading Through Tough Waters

.

5. Hard Work

Working Hard - Hand pulled cart in Assam

Working Hard - Hand pulled cart in Assam

.

6. Relief

Relief - Mid day rest

Relief - Mid day rest

.

7. Joy

Joy - Happiness of Reunion

Joy - Happiness of Reunion

.

8. Innocence

Innocence - Happy to be Back from School

Innocence - Happy to be Back from School

.

Note: All pictures were taken with no ill intentions. If any person featured above is offended, please contact me.
About Avinash Hindupur

Im an Android developer, IIT Guwahati alum. Also a birder, wanderluster & serial hobbyist. Exploring world, one step at a time.

Discussion

20 thoughts on “Emotions on Indian Streets

  1. Love it! And what a clever subject…

    Posted by Bill | February 26, 2012, 12:32 AM
  2. These are beautiful pictures! When I was in journalism school I took a few photography classes, and whenever I had to go out on the street like this, I was always worried about the people’s reaction to me taking their picture. It must come with the territory. You should keep at it because the results are stunning, and I think I remember a teacher telling me I’d get used to it.

    Good luck in the contest!
    Melinda

    Posted by melindacopp | February 28, 2012, 3:35 AM
  3. Gorgeous and this your first attempt on street photography? I say it really captures the emotions aptly. Looking forward to more of your street shots.

    Posted by Lady J | March 5, 2012, 3:44 PM
  4. I loved this post. You convey so much emotion and information about life in India with your photos! I would love to see more!

    Posted by nataliematushenko | March 5, 2012, 11:52 PM
  5. awesome photos dude πŸ™‚ thx for sharing!

    Posted by hellyt | March 22, 2012, 1:02 PM
  6. Great photos with wonderful captions. More please!

    Posted by expatlingo | March 22, 2012, 7:59 PM
  7. Great photos and captions to match!

    Posted by melanielovesalligators | March 31, 2012, 10:33 PM
  8. Beautiful work! I need to spend more time doing street photography, it has so much impact.

    Posted by cindiaugustine | April 16, 2012, 8:22 AM

Leave a Reply

Visit me at

  Google Plus - Hindupur Avinash  Twitter - Hindupur Avinash  Project Noah - Hindupur Avinash

Blog Views

  • 11,309 views!

My Blog is Viewed in:

